Show hidden files in Mac OS X

I saved a word template as my personal template. When I wanted to copy the template file to save in one of my folders for later use, I found that I couldn’t find the folder that the template located from finder. Even though I can see the folder name from the word’s preference settings.

I realized that this folder is a hidden folder, so I need to let the finder to show the hidden folder or files. For Mac, this is not that easy as in PC. I searched online and find the magic words to show and hide the hidden folders and files. In case I need to use it later, I just record the magic words here.

  1. Opne Terminal
  2. Copy and past both lines listed below into Terminal one at a time, with each line follow a enter.

defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles YES

killall Finder

The Terminal window should look like this:

Mac-Pro:~max$ defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles YES

Mac-Pro:~max$ killall Finder

Mac-Pro:~max$

Now you will be able to see the hidden folders and hidden files in your finder window.

If you want to hide the hidden folders and hidden files again, do the same thing except using NO replace YES in the line of “defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles YES

The Terminal window should look like this:

Mac-Pro:~max$ defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles NO

Mac-Pro:~max$ killall Finder

Mac-Pro:~max$

About zephyr9000

Happy sailer
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

